1. When can a residential landlord give a 48-Hour Notice to Enter to a tenant?
If a residential landlord needs to enter a tenant’s dwelling unit, the landlord must generally give at least 48 hours’ notice. 48 hours is the standard amount of notice required under Washington state law. RCW 59.18.150. For limited exceptions to the 48-hour rule, see this post.
2. What is the format for a 48-Hour Notice to Enter?
A landlord must give a tenant written notice of his intent to enter, and the notice must state exactly the time and date of entry. RCW 59.18.150(6). If an exact time is not known, the notice must specify the earliest and latest possible times of entry on that date. RCW 59.18.150(6). The landlord must enter only at reasonable times. RCW 59.18.150(6).
The notice must specify the telephone number to which the tenant may request to reschedule the entry or communicate objection to the entry. RCW 59.18.150(6).
3. Must a tenant allow the landlord to enter?
Under Washington State law, a tenant cannot unreasonably withhold consent to the landlord to enter a dwelling unit to inspect the premises, make necessary or agreed repairs, alterations, or improvements, supply necessary or agreed services, or exhibit the dwelling unit to prospective or actual purchasers, mortgagees, tenants, workers, or contractors. RCW 59.18.150(1). However, a landlord must not abuse the right of access or use it to harass the tenant. RCW 59.18.150(6).
4. When is the tenant’s consent not required?
A tenant’s notice and consent are not required if there is an emergency, or if a tenant has abandoned the property. RCW 59.18.150(5).
Dimension Law Group has experienced attorneys that know the nuances of landlord/tenant and real estate law and are ready to help. If you have any further questions, please contact our office for a free consultation.